Subdivision of Land in the Regional District

The approving authority for all subdivisions within the Regional District is the Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure (MoTI), therefore applications to subdivide property are submitted to the Ministry.  Click here for a link to MoTI’s website. 

However, as part of the process of subdivision approval the Ministry sends referrals to a number of regulating agencies for comment, including the Regional District.  

The Regional District, through its various Electoral Area Official Community Plan (OCP) Bylaws, Zoning Bylaws and Subdivision Servicing Bylaw has regulations that govern subdivision. 

These include, amongst other things minimum parcel size, minimum frontage, setbacks of buildings, parkland acquisition and requirement for connection to water, sewer and other utility services.  

As many lands in the Regional District are within the Agricultural Land Reserve (ALR), approval from the Agricultural Land Commission (ALC) to subdivide may be required.  If ALC approval is required, an owner of land wishing to subdivide will be required to submit an application for subdivision approval to the ALC. Click here for a link to the ALC website. 

It is recommended that a property owner considering subdivision contact the Regional District’s Planning Department to discuss their plans prior to submitting a subdivision application to the Ministry.  Staff can provide advice and inform property owners of any requirements the Regional District has for subdivision. 

Copyright © 2001-2019 Regional District of Okanagan-Similkameen (RDOS). All rights reserved.
Site by Tiraki