Regional Government

What We Do

Regional Boards are composed of elected Municipal and Electoral Area Directors.

At present, the Regional District of Okanagan-Similkameen Board is comprised of eighteen Directors. Ten Municipal Directors representing the City of Penticton, the District of Summerland, the Town of Osoyoos, the Town of Oliver, the Town of Princeton and the Village of Keremeos. Eight Electoral Area Directors representing Kaleden/Okanagan Falls, Naramata, Okanagan Lake West/West Bench, Keremeos Rural/Hedley, Cawston, Rural Princeton, Rural Oliver and Rural Osoyoos.

This unique representational scheme provides the necessary cross-communication venue to promote co-ordination between the activities of the individual municipalities and the rural areas of the region. The assumption of powers by individual Regional Districts is based upon continued negotiations and dialogue between the Board and the participating Municipalities and Rural Electoral Areas.

Boards and Committees

  • Community Services Committee
  • Corporate Services Committee
  • Environment and Infrastructure Committee
  • Okanagan-Similkameen Regional Hospital District Board
  • Planning and Development Committee
  • Protective Services Committee
  • Regular Board

RDOS Board Policies

The RDOS Board has adopted the following policies:

RDOS Policy Index

RDOS Vision

We envision the Regional District of Okanagan-Similkameen as a steward of our environment, sustaining a diverse and livable region that offers a high quality of life through good governance.

RDOS Mission

To initiate and implement policies which preserve and enhance the quality of life and serve the broader public interest in an effective, equitable, environmental and fiscally responsible manner.

2015 RDOS Board

Front row: Peter Waterman - Mayor District of Summerland; Frank Armitage - Mayor Town of Princeton; Andrew Jakubeit - Mayor City of Penticton; Mark Pendergraft - RDOS Board Chair; Karla Kozakevich - Director Electoral Area "E"; George Bush - Director Electoral Area "B"; Judy Sentes - Councillor City of Penticton

Back row: Andre Martin - Councillor City of Penticton; Toni Boot - Councillor District of Summerland; Ron Hovanes - Mayor Town of Oliver; Terry Schafer - Director Electoral Area "C"; Michael Brydon - Director Electoral Area "F"; Suzan McKortoff - Mayor Town of Osoyoos; Manfred Bauer - Mayor Village of Keremeos; Tom Siddon - Director Electoral Area "D"; Helena Konanz - Councillor City of Penticton; Bob Coyne - Director Electoral Area "H"; Elef Christensen - Director Electoral Area "G"

Please Note

The information contained on this website is for convenience purposes only. As conditions may change, the Regional District does not guarantee the accuracy of this electronic version. If we may provide any further clarification on any item, please contact us. Thank you for visiting our site!