General Local Election

The 2022 General Local Elections will be held on October 15, 2022.

The RDOS consists of nine Electoral Areas and six member municipalities. The municipalities include District of Summerland, Town of Oliver, Town of Osoyoos, City of Penticton, Town of Princeton, and the Village of Keremeos. Every four years the RDOS conducts general local elections to elect a Director to represent each of its Electoral Areas.

Each municipal Director on the Board of Directors is appointed by their respective Council from amongst their elected members.

For information about the 2022 general local election, please visit

At any time, the RDOS may also be conducting other voting, including Alternative Approval Process or Referendum. Information on these opportunities are available through RDOS Regional Connections as they arise.


Interested in running as a candidate for Electoral Area Director or Olalla Local Community Commissioner? Check out this useful information and relevant forms.

Nomination packages are available at

Work as Election Official

The RDOS is hiring Election Officials for the General Local Election on Saturday, October 15, 2022 and for advance voting opportunities.

See the full job posting.

Application to work as an Election Official

Qualifications for registering as an Elector

There are two categories of electors for voting in local government elections: Resident Electors (you live in the community) and Non-Resident Property Electors (you own property in the community but live elsewhere).

The RDOS does not require registration with the Provincial Voters List. All electors must register at the time of voting.

Resident Elector

You are qualified to register as a Resident Elector if you:
• are 18 years or older
• are a Canadian Citizen
• have resided in British Columbia for six months
• are a resident of the Electoral Area

Non-Resident Property Elector

You are qualified to register as a Non-Resident Property Elector if you:
• are 18 years or older
• are a Canadian Citizen
• have resided in British Columbia for six months prior to voting day
• have owned and held registered title to property within the boundaries of the local community for 30 days prior to voting day
• do not qualify as a Resident Elector
A Non-Resident Property Elector may register in relation to one piece of property only. If more than one person owns the property, only one owner may register and that person must have the written consent of a majority of the other owners (original signatures only).
No corporation is entitled to vote. 


Identity Documents

When registering, you must provide two documents proving your identity and residence. One of the documents must have your signature.
The following are examples of valid identity documents:
• BC driver’s licence
• BC ID card issued by the Insurance Corporation of British Columbia (ICBC)
• Photo BC Services Card
• Status Card issued by Indigenous Services Canada
• Request for Continued Assistance form SDES8
• Social Insurance Card (Canada)
• Citizenship Card (Canada)
• Real property tax notice 
• Credit card or debit card issued by a savings institution
• Utility bill
A combined British Columbia Driver’s Licence and Services Card is considered one document.  A second document is still required.

Additional Resources

•             Local Elections (Elections BC)

•             General Local Elections (Ministry of Municipal Affairs)