Open burning season closes April 15, 2021

News Article

Open burning season closes at midnight on Thursday, April 15, 2021 in the Regional District of Okanagan-Similkameen (RDOS). The closure is outlined in Bylaw No. 2898, 2020, a bylaw to regulate open burning within five RDOS Fire Protection Areas of Anarchist, Kaleden, Naramata, Okanagan Falls, and Willowbrook.
If your property is located outside the areas listed above, please check with your local authority.

Campfires are permitted after April 15, 2021 as per provincial guidelines. A campfire is an open fire that burns wood in one pile not exceeding 0.5 m in height and 0.5 m in width, and specifically for heating or warmth, cooking or Indigenous ceremonial purpose. Campfires may be restricted at any time by the Fire Chief and fire districts will abide by provincial orders.

For more information, please review Bylaw No. 2898, 2020 on the RDOS website:

The use of fireworks shall be in accordance with provincial regulations or Regional District Fireworks Bylaw No. 2854, 2019 for Electoral Areas “D”, “F”, and “I”.


Karla Kozakevich, Chair 
Regional District of Okanagan-Similkameen


Erick Thompson Andrea Rendall
RDOS Communications RDOS Communications
250-490-4211 250-490-4147