то:	Regional Board of Directors	OKANA
FROM:	Chair Karla Kozakevich	
DATE:	May 6, 2021	
RE:	Public Hearing Report - Amendment Bylaw No. 2911, 2021	

Purpose of Bylaws:

The purpose of the proposed amendments contained in Bylaw No. 2911 is to introduce regulations governing the use and placement of Solar Energy Systems within the Okanagan Electoral Area zoning bylaws. More specifically:

- Roof mounted solar energy systems are allowed to a maximum of 1.0 meter above the maximum height allowed for building on which it is installed.
- Establishing a minimum parcel size of 0.25 ha for ground mounted systems exceeding height of 1.2 meters;
- On parcels less than 0.25 ha, solar energy systems are permitted if:
- The device is attached to either principal or accessory building and does not extend beyond the outermost edge of the roof;
 - It is in the form of ground mounted system and does not exceed height of 1.2 meters; or
 - in an Industrial or Administrative and Institutional zone, a ground mounted system may be sited in accordance with the applicable maximum height and minimum parcel line setback a standalone structure subject to the siting requirements for accessory buildings and structures.

These amendments will be applied to the:

- Electoral Area "D" Zoning Bylaw No. 2455, 2008; Electoral Area "F" Zoning Bylaw No, 2461, 2008;
- Electoral Area "E" Zoning Bylaw No. 2459, 2008; Electoral Area "I" Zoning Bylaw No. 2457, 2008.

Public Hearing Overview:

The Public Hearing for Bylaw No. 2911, 2021, was convened on Thursday, May 6, 2021, at 9:00 am, at the RDOS Board Room, 101 Martin Street.

Members of the Regional District Board present were:

Chair Karla Kozakevich	RDOS, Electoral Area "E"	
Vice Chair Spencer Coyne	RDOS, Town of Princeton	
Director Mark Pendergraft	RDOS, Electoral Area "A"	
Director George Bush	RDOS, Electoral Area "B"	
Director Rick Knodel	RDOS, Electoral Area "C"	

Director Ron Obirek RDOS, Electoral Area "D" RDOS. Electoral Area "F" **Director Riley Gettens** RDOS, Electoral Area "G" Director Tim Roberts RDOS, Electoral Area "H" Director Bob Coyne RDOS, Electoral Area "I" Director Subrina Monteith Director John Vassilaki RDOS, City of Penticton **Director Campbell Watt** RDOS, City of Penticton **Director Judy Sentes** RDOS, City of Penticton RDOS, City of Penticton Director Katie Robinson **Director Doug Holmes RDOS**, District of Summerland **Director Erin Trainer** RDOS, District of Summerland Director Sue McKortoff RDOS, Town of Osoyoos Director Martin Johansen RDOS, Town of Oliver **Director Manfred Bauer RDOS**, Village of Keremeos

Members of the Regional District staff present were:

- Bill Newell, Chief Administrative Officer
- Christopher Garrish, Planning Manager
- Lauri Feindell, Recording Secretary

There was <u>one (1)</u> member of the public present.

In accordance with Section 466, the time and place of the public hearing was advertised in the April 21 and 28, 2021 editions of the Penticton Western and April 22 and 29, 2021 of the Summerland Review.

Copies of reports and correspondence received related to Bylaw No. 2911, 2020 were available for viewing at the Regional District office during the required posting period.

Pursuant to Section 464, 465 & 468 of the *Local Government Act*, Chair Kozakevich called the Public Hearing to order at 9:00 a.m. in order to consider the amendment bylaw.

Summary of Representations:

There were no written briefs submitted at the public hearing.

Chair Kozakevich called a first time for briefs and comments from the floor and noted that a binder is available which includes all written comments received to date and anyone wishing to review the comments could do so.

C. Garrish, Planning Manager, outlined the proposed Bylaw.

Chair Kozakevich asked if anyone wished to speak to the proposed bylaw.

Chair Kozakevich asked a second time if there was anyone who wished to speak further to the proposed bylaw.

Chair Kozakevich asked a third time if there was anyone who wished to speak further to the proposed bylaw and hearing none, declared the public hearing closed at 9:17 am.

Recorded by:

Confirmed:

Confirmed:

Lauri Feindell Lauri Feindell

Recording Secretary

Christopher Garrish Planning Manager

K. Kozakevích Karla Kozakevich Chair

Public Hearing Report – Bylaw No. 2911, 2021 Project No X2020.013.ZONE Page 3 of 3