

BACKGROUNDER

Electoral Districts

The BC Electoral Boundaries Commission will hold in-person public meetings in the following South Central and Southeastern Electoral Districts:

Meeting Location	Electoral District
Nelson, BC (422 Vernon St)	Nelson-Creston
<u>Trail, BC (201-1199 Bay Ave)</u>	Kootenay West
Radium Hot Springs, BC (7493 Main St W)	Columbia River-Revelstoke
Cranbrook, BC (209 Van Horne St S)	Kootenay East
Penticton, BC (273 Power St)	Penticton
Kelowna, BC (1370 Water St)	Kelowna West
Kelowna, BC (1655 Powick Rd)	Kelowna-Lake Country
Salmon Arm, BC (790 16 Street NE)	Shuswap
Revelstoke, BC (600 Campbell Ave)	Columbia River-Revelstoke
Kamloops, BC (650 Victoria St)	Kamloops-South Thompson

Timeline

February 22 – May 31, 2022	
Commission gathers public input to inform preliminary report to Legislative Assembly	
May 31, 2022	
Deadline for public input to inform preliminary report	
May 31 – October 21, 2022	
Commission prepares preliminary report (which may be submitted earlier than October 21)	
October 21, 2022	
Deadline for the Commission to submit preliminary report	

Quick Facts

- The Commission has not yet developed any proposals to change provincial electoral districts.
 - o The Commission's proposals will be published in their preliminary report.
- There will be a further round of public meetings after the preliminary report is published.
- The Commission receives its mandate and governing principles from the <u>Electoral Boundaries</u> Commission Act.