

## REGIONAL DISTRICT OF OKANAGAN-SIMILKAMEEN

## **BOARD of DIRECTORS MEETING**

Thursday, June 15, 2023
RDOS Boardroom
101 Martin Street, Penticton, BC V2A 5J9

MEMBERS	,
PRESENT:	

Chair M. Pendergraft, Electoral Area "A"
Vice-Chair S. Coyne, Town of Princeton
Director J. Bloomfield, City of Penticton
Director G. Bush, Electoral Area "B"
Director B. Coyne, Electoral Area "H"
Director A. Fedrigo, Electoral Area "E"
Director R. Gettens, Electoral Area "F"
Director R. Graham, City of Penticton
Director D. Holmes, District of Summerland
Director M. Johansen, Town of Oliver

Director R. Knodel, Electoral Area "C"
Director H. Konanz, City of Penticton
Director S. McKortoff, Town of Osoyoos
Director J. Miller, City of Penticton
Director S. Monteith, Electoral Area "I"
Director T. Roberts, Electoral Area "G"
Director M. Taylor, Electoral Area "D"

Director M. Van Alphen, District of Summerland Director C. Watt, City of Penticton

#### STAFF PRESENT:

B. Newell, Chief Administrative Officer N. Evans-Macewan, Financial Supervisor C. Malden, Manager of Legislative Services

Director J. Wiebe, Village of Keremeos

The meeting was called to order at 2:15 pm.

## A. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

#### **MOVED and SECONDED**

That the Agenda for the RDOS Board Meeting of June 15, 2023 be adopted.-CARRIED

A.1 Consent Agenda - Corporate Issues

# **MOVED** and **SECONDED**

THAT the Consent Agenda Corporate Services be adopted.-CARRIED

- A.1.1 Parks and Recreation Commissions
  - A.1.1.1 Okanagan Falls Parks and Recreation Commission Appointment

THAT Jillian Johnston be appointed to the Okanagan Falls Parks and Recreation Commission for a two-year term, ending December 31, 2024.

A.1.2 Planning and Development Committee

THAT the Minutes of the June 1, 2023 Planning and Development Committee meeting be received.

#### A.1.3 Protective Services Committee

THAT the Minutes of the June 1, 2023 Protective Services Committee meeting be received.

## A.1.4 RDOS Board of Directors Meeting

THAT the Minutes of the June 1, 2023 RDOS Board of Directors meeting be received.

A.2 Consent Agenda - Development Services

#### **MOVED and SECONDED**

THAT the Consent Agenda - Development Services be adopted.-CARRIED

A.2.1 Development Variance Permit Application — Electoral Area "I" (I2023.044-DVP)

THAT Development Variance Permit No. I2023.044-DVP, to allow for the construction of a metal storage container at 159 Alder Avenue, Kaleden, be approved.

# B. DEVELOPMENT SERVICES - Building Inspection

B.1 Building Bylaw Infraction 2636 Forsythe Drive - Electoral Area "F"

#### MOVED and SECONDED

THAT a Notice on Title, pursuant to Section 302 of the *Local Government Act*, be filed against the title of lands described as Lot 1, District Lot 4947, Plan 31947, ODYD, that certain works have been undertaken on the lands contrary to the Regional District Okanagan-Similkameen Building Bylaw No. 2805, 2018; and,

THAT if by September 1, 2023 the property is not in compliance with the Regional District of Okanagan-Similkameen Building Bylaw No. 2805, 2018 injunctive action be commenced against the property owners.-CARRIED

B.2 Building Bylaw Infraction 3548 Fruitvale Way - Electoral Area "C"

An update was provided on the status of compliance for the subject property.

# C. DEVELOPMENT SERVICES - Untidy/Unsightly Bylaw Enforcement

C.1 Appointment of RDOS Bylaw Officers

# **MOVED and SECONDED**

THAT the Regional District of Okanagan-Similkameen appoint Roza Aylwin and Timothy Donegan as Bylaw Enforcement Officers.-CARRIED

## D. DEVELOPMENT SERVICES - Rural Land Use Matters

D.1 Temporary Use Permit Application – Electoral Area "E"

#### MOVED and SECONDED

THAT Temporary Use Permit No. E2023.015-TUP, to allow a vacation rental use at 1135 McPhee Road, Naramata, be approved.-CARRIED

RDOS Board of Directors June 15, 2023

D.2 Official Community Plan (OCP) & Zoning Bylaw Amendment – Faulder Zone Review

#### **MOVED and SECONDED**

THAT Bylaw No. 2790.03, 2023, a bylaw to amend the Area "F" Official Community Plan to strengthen the policies and regulations governing subdivision and use of properties in the Faulder Water System, the broader Faulder/Meadow Valley area and the four designated community watersheds (i.e., Farleigh, Peachland, Shingle and Trout) in Electoral Area "F" be read a third time and adopted; and,

THAT Bylaw No. 2800.18, 2023, a bylaw to amend the Okanagan Valley Zoning Bylaw, be read a third time and adopted.-**CARRIED** 

D.3 Board of Variance Bylaw Amendments – Meeting Schedule

## **MOVED and SECONDED**

THAT Bylaw No. 2494.03, 2023, a bylaw of the Regional District of Okanagan-Similkameen to amend the Board of Variance Bylaw to update how meetings of the BoV are scheduled and conducted be read a first, second and third time and be adopted.-CARRIED

#### E. FINANCE

E.1 Community Works Funding For The Willowbrook Fire Hall Upgrades.

#### **MOVED and SECONDED**

THAT Bylaw No. 3021, 2023, being the Area "C" Community Works Reserve Fund Expenditure Bylaw for the contribution of \$60,000 for the additional costs to upgrade the Willowbrook Fire Hall, be given first, second, third reading and adopted.-CARRIED

E.2 2022 Statement of Financial Information

## **MOVED and SECONDED**

THAT the Statement of Financial Information for the year ended December 31, 2022 be approved pursuant to the *Financial Information Act* Financial Information Regulation Schedule 1, subsection 9(2).-CARRIED

### F. LEGISLATIVE SERVICES

F.1 Emergency Program Review Working Group

### **MOVED and SECONDED**

THAT the terms of reference as presented at the June 15, 2023 Board meeting be approved.-CARRIED

**Opposed: Director Miller** 

F.2 Union of BC Municipalities (UBCM) - 2023 Meeting Requests

# **MOVED and SECONDED**

THAT the UBCM meeting requests agreed upon during the Corporate Services Committee on June 15, 2023 be submitted by administration.-CARRIED

RDOS Board of Directors June 15, 2023

#### G. **CAO REPORTS**

G.1 Verbal Update

#### Η. **OTHER BUSINESS**

- H.1 Chair's Report
- H.2 **Board Representation** 
  - 1. Municipal Finance Authority Pendergraft (Chair), Coyne (Vice Chair, Alternate)
  - 2. Municipal Insurance Association Pendergraft (Chair), Coyne (Vice Chair, Alternate)
  - 3. Okanagan Basin Water Board McKortoff, Holmes, Knodel, Fedrigo (Alternate), Monteith (Alternate), Taylor (Alternate)
  - 4. Okanagan Film Commission Gettens
  - 5. Okanagan Regional Library *Monteith*
  - 6. Okanagan-Kootenay Sterile Insect Release Board Bush, Roberts (Alternate)
  - 7. Southern Interior Municipal Employers Association *Knodel, Coyne (Alternate)*
  - 8. Starling Control Bush
  - 9. Economic Trust of the Southern Interior (ETSI) Johansen, McKortoff, Bloomfield
- H.3 **Directors Motions**
- H.4 Board Members Verbal Update

# **ADJOURNMENT**

## **MOVED** and **SECONDED**

THAT the meeting adjourn at 3:04 pm.-CARRIED

M. Pendergraft, Chair

**CERTIFIED CORRECT:** 

B. Newell, Corporate Officer