Okanagan Falls
Okanagan Falls Sanitary Sewer

Construction Contract Awarded

On October 6, 2011 the Regional District of Okanagan-Similkameen's Board awarded Greyback Construction Ltd. the Okanagan Falls Wastewater Treatment Plant Replacement Contract. 

Updates for the New Okanagan Falls Wastewater Treatment Plant

Okanagan Falls Wastewater Treatment Plant Pre-Design Report and Drawings - Prepared by AECOM November 2010

Current Map of Sewer Service Area

The following map depicts the service area for the Okanagan Falls sewer system. The initial establishment of the service area was in Bylaw No. 1239, 1991. Two amendments have since been included: Bylaw No. 1409, 1993 and Bylaw No. 2124, 2002.

Development Cost Charge (DCC) Bylaw for the Okanagan Falls Community

Bylaw No. 2486, 2009 Development Cost Bylaw

  • Final Report on the background and developing the Okanagan Falls Sewage Treatment Plant DCC bylaw
    Prepared by Urban Systems, August 2009

Okanagan Falls Liquid Waste Management Plan Amendment

LWMP for the Okanagan Falls Area is complete!

The LWMP amendment was conditionally approved by the Minister of Environment on July 21, 2010 with final approval granted by Ministry of Environment on December 6, 2010.

Here are the three reports for the LWMP amendment:

  • Stage 1 & 2 LWMP Amendment for Okanagan Falls, Kaleden & Skaha Estates
  • Stage 3 LWMP Amendment for Okanagan Falls, Kaleden & Skaha Estates November 2010

Recent Newsletters

History looking at Okanagan Falls, Kaleden & Skaha Estates

Open House

An Open House was held on September 22, 2010 4:00 - 8:00 pm at the Okanagan Falls Community Centre

The Current System

The Okanagan Falls Sewage collection, treatment, and disposal works was built in the late 70's, and currently services approximately 750 properties, (including single-family, multi-family, commercial, recreational, and institutional).

The current System consists of three pump stations, pressurized and gravity sewer mains, an extended aeration activated sludge sewage treatment plant, and a rapid infiltration site.

As of April 2010, the project has begun to Design and Construct a New Wastewater Treatment Plant for the Okanagan Falls community. This treatment plant will also accept sewage from the Kaleden Lakeshore and Skaha Estates communities when sewers are extended in the future.

Watch for exciting project developments during the project from now until April of 2012!

Applying for a Sewer Connection

Click here to apply for a sewer connection.