What We Do


The South Okanagan Regional Growth Strategy, Bylaw No. 2421, 2007, (RGS), adopted on April 1, 2010, is a long term planning document that deals with growth management issues over a 20 + year period for the South Okanagan.  The RGS was developed over a six year period between 2004 and 2010 using a collaborative process that involved working with the public, First Nations, Local, regional, provincial and federal governments.  

Ultimately, the RGS aims to ensure that growth in the south Okanagan takes place in a sustainable manner. 

The area within which the RGS applies includes the southern portion of the Okanagan Valley and encompasses Electoral Areas “A”, “C”, “D”, “E” and “F” as well as the municipalities of Osoyoos, Oliver, Penticton and Summerland.  The area is shown in Figure 1 below.



The RGS seeks collaboration from all local governments to look at their future holistically aiming to “promote human settlement that is socially, economically and environmentally healthy and that makes efficient use of public facilities and services, land and other resources” (Local Government Act, 428.1).


 The South Okanagan Regional Growth Strategy, Bylaw No. 2421, 2007